Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
14. What is an Integrated Cluster Action Plan (ICAP)?
Integrated Cluster Action Plan (ICAP) shall be a key document covering baseline studies outlining the requirements of the cluster and the key interventions needed to address these needs and to leverage its potential. The ICAP prepared for the cluster will enunciate: (1) A strategy for the cluster integrating the vision for each Gram Panchayat, identified in the cluster (2) The desired components for the cluster under the National Rurban Mission (NRuM) (3) The resources to be converged under various Central Sector, Centrally Sponsored and State Sector schemes (4) The Critical Gap Funding (CGF) required for the cluster (5) Most importantly, the ICAP would delineate the cluster as a planning area for further notification. The State Governments shall prepare an Integrated Cluster Action Plan (ICAP) that would lay down the development aspirations of the cluster in a consultative manner and detail the interventions being envisaged as a part of SPMRM, the schemes being converged, implementation framework, the envisaged Mission outcomes in the cluster expected as a result of implementation of SPMRM. The ICAP will also provide the tentative project cost and the estimated resource plan to meet the project cost through convergence of various Central Sector, Centrally Sponsored, and State Government Schemes.

15. Will there be spatial plans prepared for these ICAPs?
  The ICAPs would delineate the cluster areas as well planned layouts following the planning norms (as laid down in the State Town and Country Planning Acts/similar Central or State statutes as may be applicable), which would be duly notified by the State/UTs. While submitting the ICAPs the draft notification for declaration of the cluster as a planning area and preparation of the Master Plan under the relevant State Act for the cluster shall also be submitted to the Ministry.

16. Who will approve the ICAPs
The ICAPs will be recommended by the State level Empowered Committee (SLEC) and submitted to the Ministry for approval.

17. What is Detailed Project Report (DPR)?
Detailed Project Report (DPR) contains the detailed design and costing of the project components in line with the state government norms. DPRs are detailed 'good for execution' documents prepared for the components proposed to be included by the States as Mission Outcomes for the clusters.

18. Who will approve the DPRs?
The DPRs will be approved by the State Level Empowered Committee constituted in the State, headed by the Chief Secretary.

19. What is CGF application?
Critical Gap Funding (CGF) application is the submission by the State Government for the CGF estimated for the Rurban cluster. The CGF application is submitted by the State Nodal Agency (SNA) to the State Level Empowered Committee (SLEC) for appraisal and approval. The approved CGF application is then submitted by the SNA to the Ministry for appraisal and taking necessary approvals from the Empowered Committee (EC).

20. What are State Technical Support Agencies (STSA) and what is their role in the Mission?
The Mission proposes to provide State Technical Support Agencies (STSAs). Institutions of repute, empaneled by the Ministry and engaged by the States, to support in selection of clusters, preparation of ICAPs and spatial plans and to hand hold the States in these processes.

21. What will be the implementation framework for the Mission at National level?
The project is to be implemented in a Mission mode. The NRuM will be run at the Centre, by the National Mission Directorate headed by the Joint Secretary, in-charge of the National Rurban Mission (NRuM), Ministry of Rural Development (Ministry). This Mission Directorate would be supported by a National Mission Management Unit (NMMU).
An Empowered Committed (EC) headed by Secretary, Ministry, will be constituted at Ministry, which will approve the ICAPs submitted by the States and approve the CGF for the cluster and take other necessary decisions and steps to ensure coordination with other Central Ministries and State Governments, to facilitate successful implementation of the Scheme. An Expert Group will be constituted at Ministry which will comprise representatives of relevant institutions and departments and eminent persons in the related sectors of the Mission. The mandate of the Expert Group will be to evaluate the ICAPs before it is sent to the Empowered Committee for final approval. Ministry may also seek guidance from the Expert Group on matters related to SPMRM from time to time during the Mission period.

22. What will be the implementation framework for the Mission at State level?
At the State level, Department of Rural Development or an Agency or any Department nominated by the State Government will be designated as the State Nodal Agency (SNA) for purposes of the National Rurban Mission (NRuM). The Department /SNA will be supported by a State Project Management Unit (SPMU) to be set up in the Department/SNA. Preferably, the selected agency should be under the administrative domain of the State Government's Rural Development and/or Panchayati Raj Department, as the case may be.
A State Level Empowered Committed (SLEC) headed by the Chief Secretary will recommend/approve the ICAPs before submission to the Mission Directorate and will also be responsible for other key decisions for effective coordination and implementation of the scheme.